

Clark County Law Library Circulation Policy



Circulation Privileges

Circulation is limited to members of the State Bar of standing may check out up to 20 items on their Nevada, Judicial Staff, and County Departments with a valid circulation card and in good standing with the library.

To obtain a circulation card, the borrower must fill out a Circulation Borrower Registration Card located at the Library Reference Desk or online at www.ClarkCountyNV.Gov/LawLibrary. Select Services then Borrower's Card. Law clerks and paralegals may obtain a circulation card if a Letter of Responsibility (found in the Borrower's Card section above) from an attorney accompanies the Application.

Your Library Card

The Library Card belongs to the Registered Borrower and is not transferable to other members of the law office.

Registration Fee

The \$50.00 non-refundable registration fee is payable by cash, check, or Visa/MasterCard. The registration fee is good for one year. Library staff must be able to verify good standing with the State Bar of Nevada.

Renewing Circulation Privileges

An annual fee of \$30.00 is required to renew circulation privileges. Circulation cards may be renewed online at the Payment section of the Law Library's website.

Library Materials

Library materials circulate for seven days. Reference materials and items marked "Library Use Only" generally do not circulate. Borrowers in good card.

Holds

If an item is checked out, a hold may be placed to make it readily available upon check in for the requesting patron.

Renewals

Four renewals are allowed per item unless a hold has been placed on the item. Each renewal is for one check-out period from the date requested. Renewals and holds may be requested by email at askinfo@clarkcountynv.gov, in person, or by calling 702-455-4696 during library hours.

Fines

The library utilizes fines to ensure that materials will be available for all patrons. If material is returned late, a fine of \$1.00 per day, per item (up to the replacement cost of each item) will be assessed. Excessive fines and overdue materials may cause borrowing privileges to be suspended.

The Collection

The Clark County Law Library's collection is comprised of more than 100,000 volumes, made up of over 260 periodical titles, more than 40,000 microfiche, and over 8,000 treatises.

Patrons can search our collection online at www.ClarkCountyNV.Gov/LawLibrary.

To inquire about a particular title or to request a book be placed on hold for you, please call us at 702-455-4696.

Library Guide 3